General News

MTN FA Cup: Defending champions Kotoko, Hearts and Medeama progress to round of 16

Defending champions of the MTN FA Cup, Asante Kotoko comfortably beat Thunderbolt at the Nana Afrane Okese IV Park in Ejisu on Saturday.

Evans Adomako continued his good form scoring in the first five minutes, heading in a cross from Sarfo Taylor.

Five minutes later, Thunderbolt grabbed their equaliser through Napoleon Boateng.

A first time finish early in the second half gave Adomako his second goal of the game to restore Kotoko’s lead.

Emmanuel Gyamfi put the game beyond Thunderbolt after connecting with a Fabio Gama pass in the penalty box.

Hearts of Oak similarly cruised through their round of 32 tie against Windy Professionals on Sunday.

The Phobians missed quite a number of opportunities before Daniel Barnieh broke the deadlock in the second half.

Barnieh turned provider for Hearts’ second goal as Emmanuel Nettey just had to tap the ball into an empty net.

Windy Professionals benefitted from some clumpsy defending to pull one goal back.

But quick fire goals from Benjamin Afutu and Manaf Umar put the game beyond the Division Two side.

Medeama beat Karela 2-1 to progress to the round of 16. However, the game was overshadowed by fan attacks.

Reports from the game suggest that fans, journalists and players were assaulted and attacked during the game

The referee had to delay the game multiple times as the fans in the stands launched objects at the players.

In other round of 32 results:


Kintampo Fc 2-0 Sunyani Reformers


Steadfast FC 1-4 Berekum Chelsea

Paga Crocodile 0-1 Aduana Stars

Young Wise 1-1 (5-4 pen) WAFA SC


Aboi Young Star 1-2 AshGold

Kintampo Top Talents 2-1 Kato Freedom Fighters

Heart of Lions 0-0 (2-4 pen) Great Olympics

Tamale City 1-0 Techiman City

Elmina Sharks 0-0 (4-2 pen) Vipers

Asokwa Deportivo 1-0 Skyy FC

Okwahu United 1-1 (3-4 pen) Attram De Visser

Source: Ghana News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button