Sports

MTN FA Cup: Kenny Padi wrongly ruled out Abednego Tetteh’s goal for offside – CAF/FIFA referee instructor Attifu

Replays have shown that referee Kenny Padi got his decision to rule out Abednego Tetteh’s goal against Accra Young Wise for offside is wrong.

The No.9 outjumped the Young Wise defence men to head home a cross from Frederick Ansah Botchway in the first half but he was adjudged by the referee to have been in an offside position before the ball was kicked into the box.

Retired FIFA referee and CAF/FIFA referee instructor Richard Thomas Attifu has passed his verdict on the goal after seeing the footage and says the 41-year-old got his decision wrong.

Tetteh was already on his way celebrating his header when the referee shockingly ruled his goal out for offside.

“The Hearts of Oak striker [Abednego Tetteh] was not in an offside position before the ball was crossed so the goal should have stood,” he told Ghanasportsonline.com.

Hearts went ahead to win the game 1-0 after attacker Daniel Afriyie Barnieh scored from the spot on the 66th minute mark.

Source: Sports

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button