Penalty or No Penalty?: FIFA referee instructor Richard Attifu runs rule over referee Jacob Aduntera’s call for Kotoko

Retired FIFA referee Richard Thomas Attifu has passed his verdict on the penalty incident involved in the Asante Kotoko and Karela United game in the Ghana Premier League game on Wednesday afternoon.

The FIFA Referee Instructor says the referee got his decision right in awarding the penalty a 71st minute penalty to Asante Kotoko.

Kotoko were awarded a penalty when Richard Baidoo was adjudged to have fell striker Evans Adomako inside the box. The penalty generated heated controversy as replays show the goalkeeper got a touch of the ball before making contact with the player. Brazilian midfielder Fabio Gama elected himself and beautifully converted from the spot to restore the lead for Mariano Barreto’s side.

Referee Attifu explains why referee Aduntera got his decision right: “The first show who is control. The second and third show contact with leg of the attacker.”

Source: Sports

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button